I raced the Pipeline Indoor 4X series again and managed to squeak into the Pro Women Final this time! It was another great event put on by the folks at Pipeline Bike Park with special thanks to Abby BMX for hosting the series.

This weeks race promised not only a chance of victory but something more, something much more, somethine I treasure, give thanks for and celebrate everyday…CHOCOLATE!

The race organizer offered more than chocolate treats that night.

This week I was fortunate enough to compete against old-time 4X racers like Judy Garren, Rosemary Adams and Jessica Weed. I was also reunited with some old friends: Amber Zirnhelt and Kat Duffels.

Me, Judy and Amber!

Newcomer Layne Nyhaug

Though Kat didn’t race, we had a few rips around the track together and I convinced her to be a Muddbunnies roaming reporter/photographer for the ladies event.

And this is what happens when you give Kat Duffels the job of photo journalist!

Here’s the report from Pipeline:

Feb 13th – A St Valentines Day Massacre blew up the Abbotsford Indoor on Wednesday night when Nick Goertzen, Rosemary Adams, Steve Edgar, Dorey Martin, and Darien Landers all packed on the points to take over the lead on the 2008 Pipeline Indoor Series. But will they be able to hold onto the lead going into the Pipeline Double Points Indoor Finale?

[wpvideo CbgwVPFN w=400]

The Sponsor of the St Valentines Day Massacre was the St Valentines Cupid himself as chocolates, candies, sweet hearts and make out coupons were the main prizes given at Pipeline’s Indoor #5. Darien Landers, at the ripe age of 11, won the U15 final, and won a date with the race organizer. Will they go to an expensive restaurant? Will she make him pay for dinner? Stay tuned to find out!

Another absence was Micayla Gatto, who’s currently in Chile. Rosemary Adams didn’t slow down as she placed 1st in Pro women, and took a firm lock on the #1 spot overall. Newcomer Layne Nyhaug took 2nd just ahead of 07 indoor champ, Amber Zirnhelt. Following right behind Amber, and in her first Pro Final of 2008, Ryan Petersen locked in the 4th spot, representing the Muddbunnies! Way to go Ryan!!!


In the Junior Mens Class, the battle raged on between Dorey Martin and Wylie Easton. Dorey extended his points lead, but Wylie was right behind him. Newcomer Dylon Bibbins showed his strength by taking the 3rd spot in the race, and taking over the 5th spot overall.

With the absence of Open Mens points leader, Chris Buckrell, it was a points grab for the rest of the field as they all got a chance to close the points gap. Steve “Geezerhead” Edgar, powered his way through each moto and into the final to take the top spot, followed by newcomer Paul Kalisch, Jev Bjorsell, and Blake “BFM” Manning. Jev was the only one who held his #2 spot overall, as BFM, and Edgar both climbed up a couple spots.

Listening to the guys talking in the Pro class, you can certainly see how there’s not one rider who’s considered out of their league. Places changed hads all through the qualifying motos, and usually there was less than a bike length between 1st and 4th. Nick Goertzen finally locked it up in the final while a battle ensued between Tyler Gorz and Brian Onofrichuk. Gorz blazed the rhythm, and pulled a sweet block pass on Onofrichuk to take the
#2 spot.

Here’s how it looked after the dust settled: (…but before all the Valentines chocolate was eaten)

1st Rosemary Adams 6pts
2nd Layne Nyhaug 4pts
3rd Amber Zirnhelt 3pts
4th Ryan Petersen 2pts
5th Jessica Weed 2pts
6th Judy Garren 1pt

1st Darien Landers 6pts
2nd Hunter Welykholowa 4pts
3rd Alex Tougas 3pts
4th Kevin Weed 2 pts
5th Daryl Douglas 2pts
6th Colby Baxter 1pt

1st Dorey Martin 6pts
2nd Wylie Easton 4pts
3rd Dylon Bibbins 3pts
4th Daryl Ostendorf 2pts
5th Ray Ray Faubert 2pts
6th Cameron Miller 1pt
7th Nathan Kuyek 1pt
8th Mitchell Pennimpede 1pt
9th Mason Ostrom 1pt
10th Connor Oberholtze 1pt
11th Tyler Jackson 1pt
12th Nick Hossman 1pt

Open Men
1st Steve Edgar 6pts
2nd Paul Kalisch 4pts
3rd Jev Bjorsell 3pts
4th Blake “BFM” Manning 2pts
5th “Demo” Dave McNaught 2pts
6th Ken Faubert 1pt
7th Curtis Jensen 1pt
8th Martin Newman 1pt
9th Connor Gillan 1pt
10th Steve Baxter 1pt
11th Trevor Ostendorf 1pt
12th Richard Jarman 1pt
13th Paul Pennimpede 1pt
14th Joseph Reeves 1pt
15th Tom Mackesy 1pt

Pro Men
1st Nick Goertzen 6pts
2nd Tyler Gorz 4pts
3rd Brian Onofrichuk 3pts
4th John Starcevic 2pts
5th Adam Muys 2pts
6th Todd Castonguay 1pt
7th Matt Stevens 1pt
8th Peter Jensen 1pt

The Pipeline Points Chase after 5 Races:

Pro Women
1st Rosemary Adams 32pts
2nd Micayla Gatto 24pts
3rd Jessica Weed 13pts
4th Amber Zirnhelt 6pts
4th Judy Garren 6pts
6th Layne Nyhaug 4pts
6th Ryan Petersen 4pts
6th Jerusha Miller 4pts
6th Jenn Carr 4pts

1st Darien Landers 21pts
2nd Kevin Weed 17pts
3rd Hunter Welykholowa 8pts
3rd Daryl Douglas 8pts
5th Colby Baxter 6pts
5th Anthony Messere 6pts
7th Alex Tougas 2pts
8th Samuel Kuyek 1pt
8th Austin O’D-T 1pt
8th Nathan O’D-T 1pt

Junior Men
1st Dorey Martin 31pts
2nd Wylie Easton 26pts
3rd Daryl Ostendorf 13pts
4th Cameron Miller 10pts
5th Nathan Kuyek 9pts
5th Dylon Bibbins 9pts
7th Ray Ray Faubert 6pts
7th Damien Douglas 6pts
9th Michael Rose 5pts
9th Tyler Jackson 5pts
11th Brad Reiter 3pts
11th Tanner Saliken 3pts
11th Mitchell Pennimpede 3pts
14th Nick Hossmann 2pt
15th Mason Ostrom 1pt
15th Connor Oberholtze 1pt

Open Men
1st Chris Buckrell 24pts
2nd Jev Bjorsell 19pts
3rd Steve Edgar 15pts
4th Curtis Jensen 14pts
5th Blake Manning 10pts
6th Ken Faubert 9pts
7th Brad Mckay 8pts
8th Mike August 7pts
8th Dave McNaught 7pts
10th Martin Newman 6pts
10th Richard Jarman 6pts
12nd Paul Kalisch 4pts
12th Joseph Reeves 4pts
12th Steve Baxter 4pts
15th Bruce Thompson 3pts
15th Jordan Masse 3pts
17th Trevor Ostendorf 2pts
17th Tom Mackesy 2pts
17th Derek Timmerman 2pts
17th Tim Gadd 2pts
17th Clayton Racicot 2pts
17th Craig Lam 2pts
17th James Healy 2pts
17th Eric Lalonde 2pts
17th Justin Schufelt 2pts
26th Connor Gillan 1pt
26th David Ford 1pt
26th Paul Pennimpede 1pt
26th Patrick Obenauer 1pt
26th Adam Trotter 1pt
26th Jim Korbelik 1pt
26th Mitchell Elliott 1pt
26th Jesse Roberts 1pt
26th Chris Fletcher 1pt

Pro Men
1st Nick Goertzen 36pts
2nd Tyler Gorz 23pts
3rd Brian Onofrichuk 15pts
4th Adam “Bad News” Muys 11pts
5th Todd Castonguay 8pts
6th John Starcevic 7pts
7th Matt Stevens 6pts
8th Cam Murphy 4pts
8th Peter Jensen 4pts
10th Shannon Rademaker 3pts
10th Everett Hoath 3pts
10th Trevor Porter 3pts
13th Jesse Horompoly 1pt

There’s only ONE RACE LEFT. It’s WEDNEDAY FEB 20th. Thats Next Week!! It’ll be a Double Points Night too, so everything will be on on the line! Be There!!!

Special Thanks to Rhonda Gorz, Stu Miller, Steve Baxter, Gary Harder, and Michelle Landers for making Pipeline’s Indoor #5 a success!

And remember: 100% of proceeds goes back to the park to help buy equipment, put on these events and give everyone a local place to ride. 100% Volunteer.
100% Awesome.

Please support our Sponsors!!

Kona Bikes
Fox Racing Inc
Experience Cycling
SixSixOne Protection
Fox Eyewear
Richmond Motorsports
Escents Aromatherapy
Ora Bags by Randi
Abbotsford BMX
Dincus Clothing



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *